Loading Events

Human Rights Learning Lab for Young People: Become a Human Rights Hero!


From: Friday 5th of June 2020 EDT
3:00 pm (America/New_York)
-
Until: Friday 3rd of July 2020
4:00 pm (America/New_York)
Event Type:

Virtual Event

jestrada@aiusa.org

Share
Share

As we shelter in place join Amnesty International for Friday’s in May as we explore human rights through interactive learning activities designed for grade levels 3rd-8th.   

Children have often been told that they are the future, that they will solve the world’s problems, innovate solutions and be “the leaders of tomorrow.” But why does it have to be tomorrow?  

Now, more than ever is the time to speak to young people about universal human rights.  We know children are brave, powerful, and inquisitive.  The human rights learning lab will tailor age-appropriate learning through activities that will focus on: 

  • Introducing basic concepts focused on teaching what are human rights?
  • Observing human rights in your community and today’s world
  • Storytelling
  • What you can do!

The Learning Lab will consist of a total of 4 Friday live learning sessions that will be facilitated by human rights educators who have experienced working with young people!

Dates: Friday, May 8, 15, 29, and June 5, 2020 (This session has begun, but stay tuned for information on session II, Friday, June 5, 12, 19, 26th)

Time: 12:00pm-1:00pm PT, 2:00 pm-3:00pm CT, 3:00pm-4:00pm ET  

You will need: a reliable internet connection and a computer or smartphone with a microphone 

It’s good to have: a computer with a camera 

Participants will receive a “Human Rights Hero Certificate of Recognition” from Amnesty International

If technology is a barrier for you to participate in this course please let us know.  We want to do our best to ensure everyone has access to this opportunity.

For more information please contact [email protected]

COVID-19 CRISIS: HELP NOW

DONATE