• Press Release

Finalists Announced for Amnesty International USA Media Awards

March 21, 2019

The finalists for the Amnesty International USA Media Awards have been announced, and winners in each category will be revealed at the awards ceremony on April 3.

Peabody Award-winning actor, comedian, producer and author Aasif Mandvi (The Daily Show, Years of Living Dangerously, Halal in the Family), will host the event New York City, marking the return of the event after a decade-long hiatus. The event will recognize excellence in human rights reporting in U.S.-based media and the vital role of a free press. Similar ceremonies will be happening the same week in the U.K. and Canada, hosted by the Amnesty International sections in their respective countries, honoring their nationally-based press.

The finalists in the Student Journalism category are:

The finalists in the International category are:

The finalists in the Domestic category are:

Additionally, the Amnesty International USA Press Freedom Award will be presented in honor of Jamal Khashoggi.

Judges include author Jessica Valenti; Tracy Wilkinson, correspondent for the Los Angeles Times; Alli Maloney, politics and news features editor for Teen Vogue; Hadar Harris, executive director of the Student Press Law Center; Vibha Venkatesha of AIUSA’s National Youth Collective; Franco Ordonez, national affairs correspondent for McClatchy; Daphne Eviatar, director of security with human rights at AIUSA; Raqiyah Mays, stewardship specialist at AIUSA and journalist; and Geoffrey Mock, AIUSA Middle East country specialist chair.

More information can be found at https://media-awards.amnestyusa.org